The Leadfoot Festival is a motorsport event that brings together a mix of vintage/classic cars, specialized race cars, newly released cars, motorcycles both 2 and 4 wheeled and even a supertruck.

This year, some of the big names that were included at the annual event held at Rod Millen’s 150 acre, estate in Hahei on the Coromandel Peninsula was 4 time IndyCar champion Scott Dixon, V8 Supercars great Greg Murphy, 2 x World Touring Car Champ Paul Radisich, Kiwi race legend Racing Ray Williams and of course Pikes Peak multiple-winner Rod Millen.

The addition of Scott Dixon who drove the new Honda Civic Type R was a absolute treat for the fans. He also took time to sign Honda caps and pose with fans in photos.

The event is based on a timed hill climb up a driveway and is spread over different classes with a qualifying for a top 10 shootout.

The overall winners were

1st – Alister McRae – 1998 Vantage Motorsport Subaru WRX Impreza – 49.15 seconds

2nd – Sloan Cox – 2004 Hill Climb Special Evo 8 – 50.71 seconds

3rd – Dean McCarroll -2013 Juno CN – 51.10 seconds

Pre-1975 Results

1st – Rod Millen – 1974 Mazda RX3 – 53.67 seconds

2nd – Rick Bone – 1972 Datsun 1200 Coupe – 55.00 seconds

3rd – Paul McCarthy – 1974 Ford Escort RS 1600 – 55.22 seconds

Pre-1960 Results

1st – Ray Ferner – 1931 Ralph Watson Special BSA FW32 – 64.13 seconds

2nd – Cam Neil – 1939 Chevrolet 39 Coupe – 65.74 seconds

3rd – Peter Jordan – 1951 Citroen Light 15 V8 – 66.43 seconds

Click picture to enlarge



South City Cars is the automotive section of Franklin Life NZ